Saturday, January 22, 2011

Book 1. Clan of the Cave Bear.

A few months ago daughter L was talking about a book that she had read, it sounded interesting so I borrowed it from her.  It was one of the best books that I have read in a long, long time. 
There are a few books in this "Earth Children" series, written by Jean M. Auel, and all are available from my local library.
The books tell about life on a glacial continent of the last Ice Age.

The first book in this series is "The Clan of the Cave Bear."  It is the story of Ayla, a 5 year old girl who is orphaned because of an earthquake, survives alone for a few days but is injured and found by a different race of people and raised by them. 
It is about her life growing up with people who are so different to her.
At the end of the book she is a young person still when she is banished from the Clan and has to leave.

Ayla has to learn how to communicate with the Clan as they don't talk with words but use sign language.  Ayla thinks differently to them and it causes problems for her.  To the Clan she is a child of the Others but they raise her as one of their own.

This is a great book.  It was one that I found hard to put down once I had started it.  I found it so interesting that computer time was given up so I could read the book.
There were times that I had to put it down as I was worried about what was happening but within minutes I was back into it again.
I found it interesting, exciting, sad in places...I couldn't wait to finish and start on the next one.

I thought it was a great book and would recommend it to anyone. 

I read the paperback version, 588pages.


  1. The other books in this series are just as engaging. I won't spoil it for you.It always annoyed me greatly that Auel took so long to write the next one. LOL

  2. Yea, 5 all up. The last one at the library is hardcover and HUGE. Not sure how I will manage that one.

    But the ones I have read so far have been great.

    So nice to see we have this in common as well.